The 47th Mosquito Nationals 2018 at Mordialloc Sailing Club.


The Mosquito Nationals that concluded only a couple of days ago was run like clock work with excellent conditions for the most part that allowed 11 of 12 races to be completed on schedule.

A successful Welcome Night began the series after a day of measurement and registration. The following two days saw a southerly breeze gradually grow from about 11:00 am onward, reaching 15 knots plus by the conclusion of racing.

A lowkey BBQ and a terrific sunset was enjoyed by all to see in the new year. The lay day on 1st January was warmly greeted as a time to recover after 6 hard races.

Again, the good weather was with us after a shaky or should I say becalmed start that teased the fleet until, after almost two hours, the wind eventually arrived to stay. It was another great days sailing to complete the series.

For all Mosquito Results – CLICK HERE


Face book has many photos from the regatta, mainly through the efforts of Drew Henry.


Congratulations not only to the winners but to all who participated in this very successful event. The Mosquito fleet are a warm and friendly group of people, both male and female & young and old alike and it would be a pleasure to have them back again at some stage in the future.



To the most important group of people in any sailing club or any sports club for that matter are the wonderful volunteers that give up their time to assist in the running of the club.

Mordialloc is very fortunate to have a highly skilled volunteer force that know each other well and work together to the highest order.


On behalf of the club, I must congratulate Peter Taylor and Crawford Wintersgill for their efforts. These are the guys you blame when things go wrong, so it is only fair to acknowledge their effort and attention to detail during this regatta.


I have listed out all those volunteers who assisted over the regatta. Too often individuals are not listed because some names may be missed. On this occasion I have listed all volunteers. If I have missed anyone, please advise and I shall highlight their efforts individually.


In alphabetical order, they are:

John Dance
Geoffrey Daniel
Christine Elliot
John Eriksson
Greg Gleason
Stephen Griffiths
Drew Henry
Barry Kivell
Helene Kivell
Simon Lee
Sarah Lee
Eloise Lee
James Lee
Jennifer Molan
Gordon Newbury
David Pike
Dorothy P.
Con P.
Jim Rae
Cassy Rae
Bart Scheen
Gillian Scheen
Peter Taylor
Cheryl Taylor
Tony Thompson
Karen Thompson
Darrell Tregear
Peter White
Crawford Wintersgill
Wendy Wintersgill



Peter White

Rear Commodore